Memories That Money Can’t Buy

Someday you will chase money…of yes, we all do. Between your passion and your purse will come clinking the tiny coins that will always remind you that money is important. But before all that, remember the thrill and pride you showed when I handed you coins for your little pocket. I was bargaining in the haat and you were giving me memories that I will remember all my life.

Someday…you will also remember this. Maybe…

The Little Things That Matter...

Maa tells me that when she was a kid petrol was 40 p / litre. Baba earned 800 bucks a month. Their first dish of lobsters in Taj Mahal, Mumbai costed Rs 350. It was an extravagance, but they weren’t paying for it. My parents’ childhood sounds idyllic to me. Gosh, really, how inexpensive was life then!

My own childhood was not extravagant either. Once a week, Maa would be give me 5 bucks so that I could buy dosa for lunch at school. Or pepsicola like we called in those days…iced colas squeezed in plastic pipes.

pepsi cola

Or a round of kala chana salad that I called ‘Vitamin’. The thrill of handling money was of great joy. At once empowering and full of responsibility. With a small amount given to me on certain days, I felt I had to account for every penny spent, or saved.

As I grew up…

View original post 710 more words

Leave a Reply

